Home > flickr, Python > map of the flags of the world

map of the flags of the world

A map of the flags of the world.

  1. zac
    March 4, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Hi Steven,

    This figure sounds very interesting to me.
    I’m trying to add images on a map as if
    it was simple markers.

    I tried to use the imshow method but
    the image is systematically included
    in the background (i.e. behind coastlines).
    I’m stuck with this problem …

    some ideas?

    • March 4, 2010 at 10:40 pm

      Hi Zac,

      I’m trying to find the source for this particular image 🙂

      I assume you’re trying to use basemap/matplotlib? This sounds familiar, I’m sure I had the same problem.

      A lot of the drawing routines in the Basemap class (like drawCoastlines) have an optional zorder parameter.. try setting this to 0 (zero) for the coastlines and continents, and use a higher number for your markers…

      hope that helps!

  2. zac
    March 5, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Dear Steven,

    Yes I’m trying to use basemap/matplotlib.
    I’ll play with the zorder parameter and
    keep you informed on this!
    Kind regards,

    Zac

  3. zac
    March 6, 2010 at 9:40 am


    Report on the zorder parameter:
    It seems to work well when using pcolor,
    contour, contourf or any draw* methods of
    the Basemap class but it has no effect on
    imshow… imshow plots are still applied
    as a background of any maps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

